The serve is a let if:
- The served ball touches the net, strap or band, and lands in the correct court.
- The served ball touches the net, strap or band and then touches the receiver, the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground.
- The ball is served when the receiver is not ready.
When it is a let serve, that particular serve does not count and the server shall serve again. However a let serve does not cancel the previous fault.
The serve is a fault if:
- The server foot faults; see foot fault rules here.
- The server misses the ball when trying to hit it.
- The ball touches a permanent fixture, singles stick or net post before hitting the ground.
- After serving the ball touches the server’s partner, or touches anything the server is wearing or carrying.
It is not a fault if the server tosses the ball in the air and then decides to catch it.
During the service motion, a server may not:
- Change position by walking or running. Although slight movements of the feet are allowed.
- Touch the baseline, or the court, with either foot.
- Touch the area on the other side of an imaginary extension of the sideline.
- Touch the imaginary extension of the center mark with either foot.
If the server commits any of these actions, a foot fault may be ruled.
no foot fault