Serving Fault in Tennis

The serve is a fault if: The server foot faults; see foot fault rules here. The server misses the ball when trying to hit it. The ball touches a permanent fixture, singles stick or net post before hitting the ground. After serving the ball touches the server’s partner, or touches anything the server is wearing […]
Continue reading…

 

The Serve

Before the service motion, the server must stand at rest, with both feet behind the baseline (in between the center mark and the sideline). The server then releases the ball by hand and must hit it before the ball reaches the ground. The service motion is complete once the racket either hits or misses the […]
Continue reading…

 

Serving

The server alternates serving from the two halves of the court. In both a standard game, and tie-break game, the server begins by serving from the right half of the court. The serve must pass over the net and hit the service court that is diagonally opposite the server, before the receiver may return it.
Continue reading…

 

The Receiver in Doubles

Whichever team is due to receive in the first game must decide which partner will receive the first point of the game. For the second point, the other partner will receive and this rotation will happen for the rest of the game and the set. When the other team receives serve in the second game […]
Continue reading…